Coach of the Year


The Roseville Youth Soccer Club Coach of the Year Program began in 2014 and is now in its fourth year.  Every year at the end of the season, the Club selects one coach each from our competitive program (Roseville Premier Soccer) and from our 3 recreational age groups (U6-U8, U9-U14, and U15-U19) based on nominations from parents of players in the Club.  In the spring, the Club honors these coaches at a Board Meeting for their contributions to the Club and our players.

The Coach of the Year award is presented in appreciation of a coach’s commitment and devotion to the principles and ideals of the Club and for exemplary leadership and selfless acts of time and dedication for the youth of our community. 


The goal of the Roseville Youth soccer Club is to further the enjoyment of soccer by the youth or our community.  Coaches can help to fulfill this goal by setting an atmosphere of friendly competition in which learning and playing soccer are held foremost.  Coaches should promote the spirit of the game and the principles of good sportsmanship.

Nominations for Coach of the Year should include the name of the coach, name of the team, and the age group, and should describe in one to two paragraphs how the coach upholds the principals and ideals of the Club by teaching soccer skills and sportsmanship, encouraging fair play and good sportsmanship among players, fostering team camaraderie, and helping players have fun while teaching them the technical skills of soccer.


The nomination period for Coach of the Year is November 1 – December 15 of each year.  Nominations should be sent to Tony Favro, Director of Coaching, U15-U19, at


Coach of the Year recipients receive a plaque and a polo shirt in recognition of their efforts.


Past Winners



U6-U8 – Chris Berry

U9-U14 – Lance Gilliland

U15-U19 – Michael Cerecedes

Premier – Scott Smith



U6-U8 –   Matt Silva

U10-U14 – Ben Geddes

U16-U19 – Jose Silva

Competitive – Steve Bell



U6-U8 –  Kevin Pischke

U10-U14 – Darren Kaff

U16-U19 –  Tony Favro

Competitive – Jose Ordaz